Day Two

fruit-2

Today was Valentine’s Day. And it was a great day. Honestly one of the best days I have had in a way. But I have a confession to make.

I failed in my cleanse today.

So we are back to day 0 of cleansing. I know. I didn’t last very long. It’s not even that I became too hungry or anything like that. What it comes down to is that it’s Valentine’s Day and mother dearest and I decided to be each other’s Valentine’s dates. So we cooked and ate dinner together. It was nice. Better than nice actually. It was magical.

My day started with me waking up with a chest cold or something of the like. My chest is tight and stiff with congestion, my nose is stuffy and runny at the same time, and my head has hurt all day. But I was not gonna let that get me down because the weather outside was stellar and besides the newfound sickness, I felt great. I had an appointment with my Psychologist today at 1. She’s amazing. I’ve been seeing her since I was in the eighth grade and she has really helped me through everything. I don’t know where I would be now if I hadn’t decided to seek help all those years ago.

After that, mom and I went grocery shopping together. During this time I did purchase more produce for my juice cleanse. I may have gone into today knowing it would be a failure for cleansing, but I have no intention to not see this thing through. Anyway, continuing on.

Mom and I were shopping when she wandered off and left me alone in an aisle. A man came up and asked me if I would like chocolate covered strawberries. I said yes seeing as he was a worker at the Kroger and was also holding a box full of the things in question. Said man hands me the entire thing of strawberries and tells me they are free and to just make sure they scan the barcode at checkout. So that was an added bonus to the day. I love random acts of awesomeness. We ended up buying ribeye steak and lobster tails for our Valentine’s Day dinner.

Home again and now we start cooking. Dinner ended up being magical as I stated at the beginning. And now we are just watching movies. The day feels like a total success except for the failure to juice. So starting tomorrow, I’ll be back to day 1. But for today, it’s time for bed. If anyone else is doing something like this with me, just remember –

Success is the product of many failures. Never give up just because you can’t do something 100% perfect right from the get go. And it’s okay to give in and indulge yourself. Maybe not quite as early as I did, I admit. I didn’t even really start before I gave a small surrender, but still. Nobody is perfect and as I continue on with this drastic change in my diet, I know I will come to be familiar with the days where all I want is Chinese food from the mall or French fries from McDonald’s. The key is that even when you fail you don’t just concede overall defeat. You push forward.

So that’s what I will do. I’ll push forward and start again tomorrow. Goodnight, to anyone who is reading this. And once again, Happy Valentine’s Day.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

