Day Five

yy

I really think I should put a conscious effort into not biting my nails. That’s really the first thing I though of this morning. That, and God my chest hurts. Seriously, it hurts to physically touch it’s so congested. I got some medicine yesterday and I’ve been taking it every four hours but so far I only feel worse. I’m definitely in the ‘woe is me‘ phase of being sick.

I’m extremely thankful that I juiced so much yesterday. I probably would’ve put myself in a bad mood if I would’ve had to stand around juicing for any period of time today. Instead, all I had to do was just go to the refrigerator and grab a mason jar. Thus, day five proceeded to be yet another successful day for the juice cleanse making it three consecutive and successful days of juicing.

Despite being sick, my day didn’t end up being bad. I actually really enjoyed my Friday. It was so warm outside that I was able to open the windows and let in fresh air. All I did until my mom got off work at 6 was just watch movies and drink juice. Once mom did get off work, I began cooking my reward food of the day – Brussel Sprouts!

I love Brussel Sprouts. They are probably one of my favorite things to eat and they are also a superfood. So, I cooked myself some beautiful Sprouts while mom and her friend cooked a pizza and fixed margaritas. Ian, one of my mom’s roommates, also had a friend over at the time. Everyone ate their respective dinners and I called my boyfriend before we eventually just ended up sitting in the living room socializing.

It was fun. There was a lot of laughter, a few debates, stories, and two weird Adult Swim videos. We all stayed up way later than we should have but I regret nothing. Then again, I am the only one in the group who doesn’t have to wake up for work in the morning so…

My MS today was both good and bad. It’s hard to describe but I’ll do my best. When I woke up this morning my right leg was numb. I could still move it so I wasn’t overly concerned but it was annoying. I wiggled my leg around until feeling returned and continued on. My balance was all sorts of off early on as well. The reason why I don’t chalk this down as an overall bad MS day is because as they day went on it all kind of got better. By the time I was cooking that evening I was dancing around the kitchen while working.

My joints, particularly in my knees, hurt today. They hurt in a way I haven’t felt them hurt since I did regular physical activity. Seeing as the past week I have been particularly active, I think my joints are just protesting and it has nothing really to do with the MS. Still, it seemed worth noting that joint pain is something I felt a lot of today.

 

Ultimately, I don’t have a lot to report for the day. Maybe tomorrow will be more interesting.

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Wendy Peavy says:

    Keep up the good work! One thing I do with my veggie pulp is make broth. Just a couple of bags of assorted veggies, a few quarts of water (or whatever your chosen vessel holds) and simmer for a hour or so. Or, if you have a crock pot, you can cook on low overnight. I add some dried herbs and spices to add some flavor depth. Then, after its cooled a bit, strain it with a colander lined with cheesecloth, and squeeze the pulp until it’s dry-ish. Sometimes, this gets me through a rough day.

    I hope this is helpful for you! Good luck!

    1. Alanna Sagebiel says:

      What an incredible idea! I’m so happy you told me about the veggie broth. I’m definitely going to give this a try next time I have vegetable pulp available.

Leave a Reply

